Follow Us On Social:

Local Government

Overview of Sullivan County New York Government

Sullivan County is a county located in the state of New York, USA. It was founded in 1809 and is named after General John Sullivan, a Revolutionary War hero. The county seat is Monticello and it has a population of approximately 76,000 people.

Structure of Sullivan County Government

The government of Sullivan County consists of a Board of Legislators, with 9 members elected from each district in the county. The Board is responsible for making and approving laws and policies for the county.


Sullivan County has several departments that handle different aspects of government operations such as public safety, health services, social services, and public works. These departments are headed by appointed commissioners who report to the County Manager.

Law Enforcement

The Sullivan County Sheriff's Office is responsible for law enforcement in the county. It has several divisions including Patrol, Criminal Investigations, and Special Operations.

Emergency Services

The Department of Emergency Services oversees emergency response and disaster management in the county. This includes coordinating fire services, ambulance services, and 911 communications.

Health Services

The Department of Health provides public health services to the residents of Sullivan County. This includes promoting healthy living, conducting disease surveillance, and offering immunizations.

Social Services

The Department of Family Services handles social welfare programs such as child protective services, foster care, and adoption in Sullivan County.

Public Works

The Division of Public Works is responsible for maintaining and improving the county's infrastructure, including roads, bridges, and buildings.

County Executive

The County Executive is the chief executive officer of Sullivan County. They are responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the county government and implementing policies set by the Board of Legislators.

Municipalities in Sullivan County

Sullivan County consists of 15 towns, 5 villages, and 1 city. Each of these municipalities has its own local government, headed by a mayor or town supervisor.


Sullivan County uses the bipartisan Board of Elections to administer elections and voter registration. This board is made up of two Democrats and two Republicans.


In conclusion, Sullivan County New York Government is structured to ensure efficient delivery of services to its residents. From law enforcement to social services, each department plays a vital role in maintaining the county’s well-being. The County Executive and local municipalities also play important roles in governing and representing the people of Sullivan County. So, it is crucial for citizens to stay informed about their local government and participate in elections to ensure that their voices are heard in the decision-making process. Overall, Sullivan County New York Government is dedicated to serving its residents and upholding the values of democracy. So, if you live in or plan to visit Sullivan County, rest assured that its government is working tirelessly to make it a great place to live. Let’s continue to support and engage with our local government for a better future for all.

Brochure Order Form

To order brochures simply select the check box next to the brochure you would like to order select the quantity and fill out the form below
Select Brochure(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.